top of page
  • Writer's pictureCameron Shapiro ENC 2135

Blog Post #1

At the beginning of “I Once Was Miss America” I felt sorry for this woman. Her life was constantly being torn with contrast between her fantasy life and her at home life as she strived to be someone that she wasn’t. As I continued reading I began to enjoy her enthusiasm in reading books. I was never a big reader but once I found a good book there was no distracting me. Although I couldn’t exactly relate to her, I felt compassion and understanding that there are many girls going through the same experience that she is: trapped and misunderstood. Escaping the expectations and harshness of society can be hard, but finding a book like this woman did can be life changing. For me, when I feel sad or out of place, I watch a movie to distract me from reality which is essentially what the girl discusses. Much like in this excerpt, the girl realizes it is ok to be who you are and to learn to love yourself while maintaining a love for a fantasy life. The title of this excerpt fully depicts that she learns that she doesn’t need to want to be anyone else besides herself, and that in the end she sees herself as Miss America.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Blog Post #10

On a daily basis, we are surrounded by what is called viral marketing. Viral marketing is the strategy used by individuals or groups (such as companies) that uses existing social media sources to prom

Blog Post #9

While I am creating my portfolio, it is helpful to look at previous students portfolios to get creative and organizational ideas. One of the portfolios I was observing had a quote on their home-page.

Blog Post #8

Chapter 10, in “The Bedford Book of Genres”, clearly outlined a basis of what a multigenre project is. A multigenre project is described as “a collection of three or more genre compositions built arou

bottom of page