top of page
  • Writer's pictureCameron Shapiro ENC 2135

Community Proposal

To learn more about the Hillel community I decided to visit the office on campus to get a better understanding of the day to day activities that occur. The office is located on campus which is beneficial to students as it is in close proximity. This encourages the 4000 Jewish students at Florida State University to take part in the community in an easy and efficient way. As I walked into the Hillel office, I noticed it was secure and safe for students. In order to enter the building, one must ring the bell to get the office members attention. I visited the office around 12:30 pm on a Monday. The office seemed a little empty with just 2 members of Hillel present: a board director, and a student participant. Jason Randall gave me a tour following the interview. The office building was set up in a way that was welcoming to students. There was a large couch, TV’s, and free Wi-Fi for students to use when they visit.

As I spent time in Hillel, I felt very welcomed. The two individuals I interviewed were very interested in persuading me in joining the community. Aside from the interview, Jason Randall and I got to know each other. I was surprised to find out that we knew a lot of the same people. Immediately I felt welcomed and I knew this was a place I could feel at home. Coming from Boca Raton Florida a very affluent and Jewish area, I have always been used to being surrounded with people that have similar vales and cultures as me. Entering a new environment here at Florida State university was intimidating at first. After seeing and witnessing the accepting environment of Hillel I am inspired to be a part of the community. This will give me the chance to surround myself with others that have similar interests as me.

When you are a part of the Hillel community, there are many interactive activities on a daily basis. Every Friday, a Shabbat dinner is held for students to interact with others in the community and eat typical Shabbat foods that individuals can’t find anywhere else. This environment is more interactive than a typical day in the office. While the office provides a location for students to relax and do their homework, a Shabbat dinner introduces ideas and individuals with each other. This gives the opportunity to meet new people and get accustomed to the community.

           After experiencing the community of Hillel in my own eyes, I decided to take a virtual route through their website. The Florida State University Hillel website offers a wide range of information about the events that take place mostly in the fall and spring terms. Community buildings and Israel Birthright trips are available to students. The website makes it engaging for students to learn and feel welcomed in joining these events. While the website does not offer as much information about the organization, it provides motivation for students to engage with the community by visiting the office and meeting members of the staff. The range of tabs on the website give insight on the environment of Hillel. Staff members work diligently weekly to put together and upload an organized schedule with events coming up to keep students and members in the loop and updated.

           The Hillel website has opportunities to get involved in other ways such as subscribing to an e-newsletter and joining the Facebook group. Whether an individual is browsing the Hillel website or actually entering the office, it seems that it is guaranteed that one will learn and feel immediately welcomed into the community.  

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Research Paper Draft

Coming from a very competitive school and environment, I knew exactly what it was like being on the outside of reality. I was desperate to better my resume that I decided to join the bowling team. It

Research Paper

Coming from a very competitive school and environment, I knew exactly what it was like being on the outside of reality. I was so desperate to make my resume better that I decided to join the bowling t

Annotated Bibliography

Brown, Michael Jacoby. Building Powerful Community Organizations : A Personal Guide to Creating Groups That Can Solve Problems and Change the World. Independent Publishers Group, 2006. EBSCOhost, logi

bottom of page