top of page
  • Writer's pictureCameron Shapiro ENC 2135

Revised Narrative

Little did I know making the bowling team would change my life. Ever since I was little I have experienced anxiety. Whether my anxiety related to school or my social life, I worried about every little thing. Bowling became an out. A distraction from my anxiety. Losing myself in bowling demolished all my anxiety and distracted me from the weight on my shoulders dragging me down. Being awarded the title of captain was life changing. It wasn’t that I was the best, it was that I had so much spirit to rally up the entire bowling alley. Whether the team was winning or losing you could always hear me laughing and screaming for everyone just to have fun. Bowling gave me the opportunity to make friends on my own and venture out, which I am forever grateful for. At the end of the season I was again surprised to be named most improved. This award touched me the most. With the dedication I poured into a sport I never would have usually considered, I grew and became one of the best players on the team.

I remember the exact moment that the Big Idea hit me. I was sitting at my desk diligently doing my schoolwork late at night. At this moment, I knew that I had to join a sport. One more thing to add to my resume, I thought. There was one issue; I didn’t have any talents. For a moment there, the idea seemed perfect before my sense of reality kicked in. I had to find a sport that was easy enough for me to join but impressive enough for colleges. Suddenly, the idea of joining the bowling team crossed my mind. I knew joining a team alone would be a challenge for me considering I am shy and dependent on others, but I was willing to try anything at this point.

As I walked into the bowling alley, I felt the chills tingle throughout my body. Like usual, competition looked high and everyone seemed to be on the same page of joining the bowling team as me, for any reason except to bowl. I knew nobody which made it even worse. I so desperately wanted to be there, but I could barely put myself out of my comfort zone. This whole experience was very new to me and I stood out vividly. Everyone had their own set of bowling shoes and a newly shined ball by their side. I didn’t even know how to bowl! I started to regret my decision of coming.

It came to my turn and I was feeling uneasy but was going to try my best. I lifted my arm back and tossed the eight-pound ball down the ally. I instantly covered my eyes and shrieked back with fear. I heard the loud crash as pins fell one after the other. As I opened my eyes I realized I wasn’t doing too bad. Tryouts were over a span of two days which meant I had to be consistent with my score. At the end of the first few games my score averaged out to 85 and was probably in my opinion at the bottom of the totem pole, but I still had one more day to prove I was worthy of earning a spot on the team. The second day of tryouts were very similar to the first, but I began learning to critique and improve my skills on how hard to throw the ball and which fingers to use. I began making friends with the girls that were at my station. It felt relieving in a way to socialize with others independently when I was so accustomed to my limited friend group.

At the end of tryouts our coach let us know that the list of people who made the team would be posted the following day outside her door at school. It wasn’t until I got home that night that I realized I actually enjoyed bowling and wanted to be on the team for more than just

my resume.

I walked up to my coaches door after every class period to find out whether I was on the team or not. I remember the exact moment that I walked up to the list. I was shaking and filled with adrenalin. The list was organized by student numbers rather than names and I panicked as I couldn’t find my number. I felt myself tearing and emotion running through my body. As I got to the bottom of the list, I saw that my number was last; I made the team. This moment wasn’t just about making a team it was about being part of a group out of my comfort zone that would teach me something new while broadening my social and bowling skills at the same time.

Later that week during practice our coach announced she would be picking captains for the team. I instantly rooted for my newly made friends that were the stars of the team until I heard my name being called. I was named captain, yes, me! In this short amount of time my coach and the people around me enabled me to open up a new side of me that I have never witnessed.

Since the beginning of time all I can remember is pushing myself out of my comfort zone to fit in with the rising competition in my school. From taking 4 to 5 AP classes a year to enrolling in every club and organization available, everyone had to one up another to get accepted into the best college. Although my grades were decent and I was “keeping up” with the moral of other students, I still didn’t feel as if my resume was substantial enough for my dream school or at this point, any school. Little did I know joining the bowling team would solve most of my problems.

Starting college and adjusting to a new life is hard enough, but finding friends at the same time is completely overwhelming. Luckily, bowling gave me the opportunity to learn to balance my schedule while having fun and meeting new people.

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Narrative

Since the beginning of time all I can remember is pushing myself out of my comfort zone to fit in with the rising competition in my school. From taking 4 to 5 AP classes a year to enrolling in every c

bottom of page